Remembering 2013

Today marks the start of a New Year, a time for people to make plans, fresh resolutions for change and, hopefully, are able to look forward to the coming year with a fresh, positive outlook. It also makes me think about the outgoing year and what, (both as a person and a family), we’ve all been through.

For me, 2013 has been a bit up and down…… mainly up’s, which I’m very grateful for. It’s the year that I’ve seen my blog really take off in a great way. Through some hard work and a lot of help and guidance from my family; (you know who you are), I’ve been able to overcome my fear of computers and technology to be able to incorporate my blog as an addition to my outdoor life. In turn, I’ve been able to pass on my experiences to a wider audience, out there in the “www.e-wilderness”. I’m truly amazed at how welcoming people in the blogging world are, and I really appreciate the comments, feedback and stories that I get to share each week.

However, this was also the year that our family suffered a great loss. My grandmother (Nan) sadly passed away in July. She was a truly amazing woman and I treasure my last week with her. We were able to come together as a very close family. We talked, cried, shared stories of family holidays, and laughed together. We passed around lots of happy memories of a remarkable woman who will not be forgotten.

With my daughter getting older, we really got into our outdoor pursuits during the past year. We camped at St Davids in Pembroke, which is a stunning area of natural beauty. We swam in crisp, clear blue seas, went on long coastal walks and had ice-cream everyday. It was the year that my husband proudly caught a huge spider-crab, which we cooked on a camp-fire for our dinner, and we ate with a simple tossed salad, crusty bread and a homemade seafood-style dressing!!

We went for our first family gorge walk at Dinas Rock. The whole family took part in jumping into very cold pools, scrambling across the rocks and crawling through the waterfalls. It was a great day with lots of smiles and giggles, mainly at the expense of my husband and my dad not realising how cold the water would be, and watching them jump straight in….. and right back out again!

It was the year of the mountain bike, too. My daughter mastered her biking balance, and we were off. We rode in the sunshine and the rain. We rode all along the Taff Trail and had some brilliant adventures on some great Welsh tracks.

Another adventure saw us become a family of food foragers. We’ve spent many Sundays at Oxwich Bay, in the Gower, in all types of weather. We hunted for cockles and mussels, then hurried back home for my husband to prepare a delicious meal, which was very fresh, tasty and, (let’s be honest), FREE!

We’ve gone on lots of long walks, enjoyed cooking on open fires, gone through 3 pairs of wellies EACH and discovered a passion for rock-pooling and driftwood collecting. Great family times that I really treasure.

So, I would like to say a GREAT BIG THANK YOU from myself and my family, to new blogging friends, for all the lovely comments and the feedback. Thank you for sharing your wonderful stories, and thank you for the continual help and support that I’ve received from different people, not just from my family.

Here’s wishing you all a New Year filled with fun and exciting outdoor adventures.

Happy New Year!!

PicMonkey Collage

mummy mishaps
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Remembering 2013

  1. Here’s to a New Year filled with more ‘firsts’ and more successes and which is filled with Love and Laughter.
    xxx I send Huge Hugs xxx

  2. I was just thinking to myself that a successful year is one where the tears are not outweighed by the laughter and joy. Sounds to me like you had a pretty amazing year. I hope this year is even better to you and yours.

    • That is such a lovely way to look at the past year. My Nan was a lady who would be so cross if she thought we weren’t enjoying ourselves, especially at Christmas. Thank you for comment, Happy New Year to you!

  3. What a wonderfully adventurous year. My daughter has found her bike balance this year and is loving exploring the cycle paths around here – whatever the weather

    • It really is a great way of spending some family time outdoors. I was amazed how biking just clicked with her. Thank you for lovely comment.

  4. Sounds like a lovely year on the whole. I hope 2014 is even better.

  5. jennypaulin

    hello and lovely to meet you and your blog 🙂
    what a wonderful round up with some really lovely outdoors photos – you cannot beat getting outside for some fun and family time. that first photo is stunning with the waves splashing up agaisnt the rocks!
    i am sorry to read about your Nan, I lost my Na last December and i still miss him (hugs)
    thank you for linking up and happy new year x x

    • Hi, that photo is from Nash Point, near Bridgend. One of our favourite places for walks. Thank you for link up, had lots of lovely responses from it. Great to get the feedback.
      Wishing you a happy new year to!!

  6. Some lovely memories and great photography. I love the under water shot!
    All the best for 2014 x

  7. You have really made the most of life this year, and looks like you’ve had a lot of fun. I am very sorry to hear about your Nan. xx

    • Thank you, was lovely writing this post and looking back on photos and memories. Great times and stories with my Nan to.

  8. Happy New Year! I’m sorry to hear about your grandma. I lost my grandpa last year and I know it can be difficult. I was glad we were able to remember him over the holidays. Sounds like 2013 was a good year – here’s wishing you and your family an even better 2014!!

    • Thank you, it was good to write this post and remember the nice times with my Nan. Wishing you a good 2014 as well. Thank you for commenting.

  9. I’m so sorry about your nan, I didn’t know. Here’s to more highs in 2014.

    • Hi, thank you. It was something that was going on for long time with her and went by in blur. She’ll be remembered!!

  10. Joanna Chittenden

    Bit late but happy new year to you & yours too! Really enjoyed reading this post (& all the others too!) one of my resolutions this year is to also get out more & explore the outdoors. Now that I’m living further into Wales I am appreciating the scenery a lot more on a daily basis & am looking forward to some walks, climbs & rides as well as visiting different parts of the coast-will keep you updated! And of course collecting fauna to use in my creations;) Also looking forward to playing (& planting!) more outside again this year with the kids play project I’m involved in due to a fantastic grant (& hope you will be able to join in with us too!!)

    Great blog, posts & pics-keep it up for 2014!
    Xx

    • Hi Jo, Happy New Year to you too. Thank you for lovely comments and would definitely be out and about with the area you living it at mo. Its beautiful!

      I would love to do a post on the play sessions in the future, is a fantastic experience allowing children to play in green open spaces and not be restricted just because they live in the city.

      Cant wait for your art creations as well this year.

      See soon.

  11. Joanna Chittenden

    Doing a post on the play sessions is a great idea! Maybe we can work with your team & take them on a trip too??
    Am very excited to be booked up to achieve one of my ambitions in May-to climb Snowdon!! It’s a friends 40th & we are having a girlie weekend in a cottage in the National Park area. Looking forward to visiting the local pubs too!
    x

    • That’s amazing, your trip sounds brilliant and if need any kit give me a bell. I would love to do more stuff with the play sessions, definitely do a post and could talk about COAT sessions, sounds a fab idea.
      See soon.

Please share your thoughts about my post with me!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Wild Family Fun

Tales of living, working and enjoying life in the outdoors

kimmer2111

Northumberland Mam

no time for ironing

Food, Fun and Fresh Air

Love Outdoor Play

Because it's good to play outdoors.

a field somewhere

if only life were that simple

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

RoseReads

Writer and Lover of Words

Learning for Life

Tales of living, working and enjoying life in the outdoors

mummy mishaps

clumsily raising my boys and baking cakes

OneDad3Girls

Life. Love. Laughter

mumturnedmom

live | reflect | write

dadbloguk.wordpress.com/

Gestation and lactation; the only two things men can't do as parents...

ianrodger

Photography

Rethinking Childhood

Website for Tim Gill: researcher, writer, consultant

Paul James Newton Photography blog

Photography, work, life, fun. All rolled into one.

haydnmann

Summer Lung Buster

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Northampton children and nature network

Its all about being outside

PonderTheIrrelevant

Travel, Photos, Life

